U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government, Department of Justice.

Principles of Forensic DNA for Officers of the Court


Home  |  Glossary  |  Resources  |  Help  |  Contact Us  |  Course Map

To ensure that this program appropriately served its audience, a broad-based, multi-disciplinary focus group of subject matter experts was empaneled to develop content, multimedia, and user-interface components.  Additional expertise from statisticians and researchers in the field of forensic DNA was obtained to provide the most accurate and comprehensive program content.

Special Thanks To

Sarah Hart
Director, National Institute of Justice (2001-2005)

Working Group Members

Jack Ballantyne
University of Central Florida

Susan M. Ballou
Office of Law Enforcement Standards
National Institute of Standards and Technology

The Honorable Ming Chin
California Supreme Court

The Honorable George W. Clarke
Judge of the Superior Court
County of San Diego

The Honorable Andre Davis
Judge, U.S. District Court
District of Maryland

Jules Epstein
Kairys, Rudovsky, Epstein & Messing

Debra Figarelli
City of Phoenix, Laboratory Services Bureau/
National Forensic Science Technology Center

Dean Gialamas
Forensic Science Services Division
Orange County Sheriff-Coroner Department

Syndi Guido
Office of Policy
Pennsylvania State Police

Carol Henderson
The National Clearinghouse for Science, Technology and the Law
Stetson University School of Law

Kimberly Herd
Office of the Assistant United States Attorney

Henry Lee
University of New Haven

Terry Melton
Mitotyping Technologies

Christopher Plourd
Law Office of Christopher J. Plourd

The Honorable Ronald Reinstein
Judge, Superior Court of Arizona

Steve Twist
National Crime Victim Law Institute

Subject Matter Expert Contributors

Frederick R. Bieber
Brigham and Women's Hospital

John Butler
Human Identity DNA Technologies Group
Biotechnology Division
National Institute of Standards and Technology

George Carmody
Carleton University

Joe Cecil
Federal Judicial Center

Greggory LaBerge
Denver Police Department Crime Laboratory

NFSTC Development Team

Robin W. Jones
Project Manager, Consultant

Mike O'Berry
Instructional Technology Manager

Eileen Fynan
Instructional Design Specialist

Mark Taylor
Multimedia Design Specialist

Danny Nichols
Multimedia Design Specialist