U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government, Department of Justice.

Forensic DNA Education for Law Enforcement Decisionmakers

DNA Analysis

Home  |  Glossary  |  Resources  |  Help  |  Contact Us  |  Course Map

Step 3: DNA Analysis

Illustration of a cell
National Institute of Justice (NIJ) (see reuse policy).

In this step, three types of forensic DNA analyses are typically conducted:

  • Nuclear
  • Y chromosome
  • Mitochondrial


This explanation will focus on nuclear DNA analysis as the standard DNA test. Nuclear short tandem repeat (STR) is the most common method used in the United States. DNA analysis can be divided into four distinct parts: extraction, amplification, detection and interpretation. The following discussion will examine each part and the role it plays in the overall analysis of DNA evidence.


Back Forward