U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government, Department of Justice.

Graduate Research Fellowship Program

Apply Now! FY 2023 Funding Opportunity Is Open

The program is now accepting applications. See the 2023 solicitation for details.

A webinar discussing the program will take place on February 8, 2023, from 11am - 12pm ET. Register here.

The NIJ Graduate Research Fellowship (GRF) program supports doctoral students engaged in research that advances NIJ’s mission.

The goal of the GRF program is to increase the pool of scholars engaged in research that addresses the challenges of crime and justice in the United States, particularly at the state and local levels.

Previously, the GRF program had two separate tracks: Social and Behavioral Sciences (SBS) and Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM). Beginning in 2020, NIJ welcomed eligible applicants in all fields to a single GRF funding opportunity, regardless of SBS/STEM distinction.

Sign up for email alerts when new funding opportunities are posted.

Contact Information

If you have questions about NIJ’s GRF Program, e-mail [email protected].

Date Published: January 18, 2023