U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government, Department of Justice.

Figure 1. States That Have Enacted Arrestee DNA Collection Laws in the United States


From the article "Collecting DNA From Arrestees: Implementation Lessons," June 14, 2012.

Map charting which states have enabled arrestee DNA collection laws within the United States. 

  Collection Criteria States that require a judicial determination of probable cause, warrant, formal indictment or arraignment prior to collection or analysis States that require state-initiated expungement
Felonies States that have additional criteria for collection
All Subset
Alabama (AL) x        
Alaska (AK) x        
Arizona (AZ)   x      
Arkansas (AR)   x      
California (CA) x        
Colorado (CO) x     x  
Connecticut (CT)   x x    
Florida (FL) x     x  
Illinois (IL)   x   x  
Kansas (KS) x        
Louisiana (LA) x        
Maryland (MD)   x   x x
Michigan (MI)   x      
Minnesota (MN)   x   x  
Missouri (MO)   x     x
New Jersey (NJ)   x      
New Mexico (NM) x     x  
North Carolina (NC)   x   x x
North Dakota (ND) x        
Ohio (OH) x        
Oklahoma (OK)     x    
South Carolina (SC) x       x
South Dakota (SD) x        
Tennessee (TN)   x   x x
Texas (TX)   x      
Utah (UT)   x x x  
Vermont (VT) x     x x
Virginia (VA)   x   x x