U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government, Department of Justice.

Dot gov

The .gov means it’s official.
Federal government websites always use a .gov or .mil domain. Before sharing sensitive information online, make sure you’re on a .gov or .mil site by inspecting your browser’s address (or “location”) bar.


The site is secure.
The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

Program Services Under the Second Chance Act

Sidebar to the article 'Cultural Shift' Is Among Findings of Second Chance Act Evaluation by Nancy Ritter

In addition to case management services, the 10 Second Chance Act sites evaluated by NIJ-funded researchers deliver re-entry services that fall into these basic categories:

Education and TrainingGED preparation and testing; vocational and community college education
Employment AssistanceJob search and placement assistance; resume development; interviewing training
Substance Abuse TreatmentIntensive, outpatient, 12-step-type services, administered by a licensed specialist
Mental Health ServicesScreenings; referrals; subsidized medication
Cognitive Behavioral Therapy Psychotherapeutic approach that addresses dysfunctional emotions or maladaptive behaviors through goal-oriented, explicit systematic procedures
Pro-Social ServicesStress and anger management; peer support; leisure activities; family and parenting classes; mentoring
Housing AssistanceSubsidized housing; housing placement services
Date Created: December 18, 2013